Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statements asks for equal amount of investment in both arts and military. Military is the strength of a nation, an armor that protects it from outside world's attack. On the other hand, art is the essence of a nation, which represent the culture of a nation. While both of them are important for development of a nation, there is no doubt that military is cardinal to a country.

A powerful military is defined by the number, capability and weapons owned by a country. These figures are project the reputation and status a country hold against rest of the world. For instance, consider tumult between India and Pakistan. If India didn't have a colossal military back up, then Pakistan would not think twice to attack India. Although, India is strong enough not to worry about Pakistan, there is some risk of China allying with Pakistan to attack India. China is second largest military in the world and India comes after that(third largest). That is why, strong military is by far most crucial to a country, had India been not strong military power, it would have been won over by Pakistan already.

If a country has a powerful military back up, then it can think about investing money on arts. Arts are important to preserve the culture and essence of a country, if art culture is lost then soul of a country is lost. In that case, military will be protecting a dead country. For instance, India being most diverse country in the world has an eclectic culture. World wide tourists are attracted to visit India for this matter. Yoga being one of the primary attraction world over, now if Yoga culture gets moribund in India due to lack of investment, then it will be a huge loss to what India resembles and stand for. Therefore, it is important to preserve the art culture of country too, but not at the cost of its military power. No military power means no protection.