Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The contention that government should spend as much in as arts as they do on the military is a much-debated one. While decent enough government funding can help promote the culture and heritage of our country, spending an amount commensurate to the defence budget is absolutely preposterous. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the posited argument. The recommendation may seem prudent and judicious at a cursory glance, but on deeply ruminating on the topic, one realizes that it is specious. There are two reasons for the same.

Firstly, the government spends a lot of money on the military, sometimes as much as 35 to 40 percent of the fiscal budget, because it is a matter of our national security. Every country has its own allies and foes. If they do not spend a gargantuan amount for defence or military purposes, then we would be vulnerable to attack by insurgents, foes, terrorists etc. Also, there is always a heightened risk of espionage and spying by foreign agents. To counter these attempts, massive funding is required for the intel and the firepower of the military to become efficacious to deal with these troublesome situations. I could go on to state that even the well being of a citizen would be on the line if we do not invest in the military a humungous sum of our federal budget. But is there such a necessity to invest a consummate amount of money on arts? Perhaps not. Our national heritage or our endemic arts is not under a constant 'threat' by our adversaries, nor will our life become perilous if one of the art forms becomes extinct overnight. There are no cases of exigencies associated with the art forms in order to warrant a budget proportional to that of the military.

Secondly, the funding of defence is huge mainly because of the huge research and development costs associated with keeping our country "au-courant" with the latest technologies. We are always in constant fear of being 'left behind' in the war on technology and cyber warfare. So, in order to ramp up our defence efforts, we need massive funding to keep our research cutting-edge and keep our country in the vanguard position, when it comes to the technological aspects of warfare. On the other hand, most of the funding in arts is mostly concerned with the maintenance of museums, preservation and promotion of our national heritage, which, though important, do not warrant commensurate spending on the same. The 'art' in arts is mainly contingent of the artist to perform. We do not need R&D efforts on the same to improve the arts! Therefore the argument that calls for proportional spending on military and arts is specious, to say the least.

It can be argued that spending so much amount of the federal budget on our defence is a sham because, in modern times, we do not have fear of any 'war' between us and our adversaries. This is a misconception. While it is true that we do not need the same amount of spending which we used to spend during the times of the world wars, there is always a constant threat by our enemies of attack. One needs to only look up the cases of Afghanistan and Syria to understand the same. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the given recommendation that the government should be spending the same amount of money in the arts as that in the military.