Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

In the modern era, humanity became a witness of the most outstanding advancement of modern technology. It is all because of research innovations that take place almost every day in every part of the world. It was only a century ago, when people were suspicious if research results would bring positive impact on quality life and were never involved in research works. Hence, government did not pay enough attention to scientific research whose outcomes were unclear. A government might not have thought that if they allocated enough funds, the results of scientific research maight have turned out to be useful at a later time, if not immediately. From my perspective, government should fund scientific research even if the consequences are opaque for a number of reasons.

A government might be afraid that unreasonable expenditure could be spent on something more rational such as healthcare or education of people of a country. This might be sensible from all perspectives, but, on the other hand, if to be brave, a big fortune might be spent for research because only scientific research can bring well being to the people of a country. To illustrate, thanks to scientific research in the field of medicine, people can prolong their lives through medicine that was not accessible due to lack of research works many decades ago. Diseases that were considered incurable a few decades ago, cancer, for example, can now be treated very easily. It is one of the main reasons governments should consider funding research even if it is not sure of positive results.

Since the advent of modern technology people's life became more mobile and flexible. For example, gadgets that expede people's connection through time and distance are the results of scientific research of many great minds. The discovery of cars, washing machines, and other technology that people use in their every day life are good examples why governments should fund scientific research. All aforementioned technology did not come in one day because they were funded from the very beginning, but after many years of hard work of scientists who were both in search of financial support and convinced that they were working for the good of people.

It is only through research that people can make progress. One invention or discovery leads to another. In most cases, discoveries are accidental and one cannot be sure if the outcome is clear. Government should consider funding any scientific research, even the results are unclear, otherwise no one will ever know if such scientific research has true potential to be realized and exploited.

new roman"">it is only through research that people can make progress. one invention or discovery leads to another. In most cases, discoveries are accidental and one cannot be sure if the outcome is clear. government should consider funding any scientific research, even the results are unclear, otherwise no one will ever know if such scientific research has true potential to be realized and exploited.