The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this letter the author gives recommendation to the city to prohibit skateboarding. The author states that the decrease in business is due to the increasing number of skateboard users in the plaza. it led to the decrease in business of many store owners. However, the author doesn't provide sufficient proof to state so. Several questions should be asked before making decision to prohibit skateboarding at central plaza.

Certain information should be obtained from customers, store owners, or plaza management. Primarily, before making the decision to prohibit skateboarding, the city needs to find out what was the trend of number of shoppers beyond past two years. was it also decreasing steadily, even before skateboarding in central plaza became popular? if yes, this will indicate that the decreasing numbers of shoppers may be attributed to other reasons rather than skateboarding. it may , for instance, be due to to poor customer services or restricted variety of goods that customers are looking for. it may also be related to other reasons, such as the increasing popularity of other trade centres nearby. People might have started visiting other trade centres because they offer goods at a discounted price or of better quality in comparison with stores at central plaza.

Another important issue to consider is if there were any changes in the last two years that might be related to decrease in the popularity of central plaza. also, other reasons could have influenced on the decrease in the popularity of the plaza. The number of restaurants and cafes might have decreased or the quality of them might have worsened. Hence, such changes will not attract customers anymore. also, it is should be done on whether there were any changes in policies to visit central plaza, such as introduction of any additional charges like parking charges. introduction of such rules may demotivate customers to visit central plaza, and not necessarily skateboarding activities.

The author also denotes the fact that there has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. The author implies that it may or may not be related to skateboarders. To illustrate, both littering and vandallism could be due to changing security services to worse in the plaza or littering could be due to poor cleaning services. this may actuate to identify the underlying reason of such vandalism and amount of litter throughout the central plaza before making any further assumptions.

By giving recommendation to the city to prohibit skateboarding at central plaza, the author should have given reliable sources on why it conflates with above-mentioned reason. this perspective suggests that relevant questions to the matter might persuade the city to comply with the request of the author.