The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The suggestion of the Board of Directors of Monarch Books to open a cafe in its store might contribute to a larger customer base: such cafe might attract the customers of Monarch Books with hot cofee and snacks that would be appropriate when readers have to spend hours at the bookstore. However, the Board of Directors did not give any convincing clue why opening a cafe might increase a large number of customers. If the Monarch books is already known for many people with a wide selection of books on all subjects and exists for more than twenty years, it already has a good reputation among the denizens of a region. Were there any cases when customers asked if there were something to drink or eat at the bookstore. How frequently such questions were posited from customers? If the answer is positive, in this case the suggestion to open a cafe could be considered. Otherwise, there is no reason to do so.

In the recommendation it was mentioned that a space for opening a cafe could be made by discontinuing the children's book section. The Board of Directors states that there might be decrease in consuming childrens' books due to significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Even if this percentage is the most recent one, no one guarantees that there will be a baby boom in the nearest future. Hence, Monarch Books might lose its future customers. If the Board of Directors considers opening a cafe at the bookstore, its members should take into consideration the fact that people might be loyal customers not only because they consume adult books, but also books for children. Additional information should be gathered in order to find out how many adult books and children's books are sold every year at the bookstore. This indication will show to what extent children's book section is on demand.

Also, the Board of Directors has mentioned that opening a cafe would attract customers just the way it could have attracted the customers of Regal Books. Making such assumption is not rationale due to a number of reasons: there is no any clue that by opening a cafe in the bookstore the Regal books increased the number of their customers. Also, there is no any additional information on Regal bookstore. Why the Board of Directors of Monarch Books are concerned about competing with Regal Books? If the Monarch Books has already earned its reputation among the population of a region, there is no need to compete and change something in order to attract the customers. At the outset, it was mentioned that Monarch Books is located at one place for more than twenty years. People tend to visit places they are accustomed to all the time, especially if this place provides them with all necessary products. According to Board of Directors, the Monarch Books has no issues in their business, including with a large customer base.

In a nutshell, before opening a cafe in the bookstore, the Board of Directors of Monarch Books should take into consideration several points: its members should provide the most convincing clues based on customer service and product consumption, and gather additional information if the Regal Books made a profit by opening a cafe in their bookstore. Having considered above-mentioned analysis, it would be rational to make final decision.