Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is the one of the basic rights of an individual of any age. It helps to shape them socially, mentally, and intellectually. The prompt suggests that government should offer higher education for free to an individual. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the given statement for following reasons.

Firstly, when the opportunity is given equally to all, then only the true talent can be selected. Suppose, a average academic background student, with good economic background can get easily to the college or university, but the one with better academic background and low economic background cannot. As a result, the one who could have been better at a field is denied of the opportunity. We can assume what would have happen if Einstine was denied of his education just because of poor economic and poor literature background.

Secondly, Free education makes it easier to get admitted in the field of interest, without any mental and economic burden. In most of the Asian countries, the level of competition for entrance is so high that; students spend years to prepare for all the subjects to pass entrance and get admitted whereas, some meet the unfortunate ends, committing suicide and suffer from mental illness. So, making education free will help students to be happy, give their best at exams and later become a part of something revolutionary in their respective field.

However, some might argue that, making education free will only increase the number of students, which might deteriorate the quality of products that the university was delivering previously. Even though the student gets graduated the quality in student might not be best. As, professors could not give time to too many students and favor only those whom they believe could perform better.

In conclusion, it would be difficult to provide education for free, but because of above merits, I believe government must provide students with higher education for free of cost.