Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is important for the development and advancement of a country . It is the government's responsibility to ensure high percentage of literacy in the country and one of the crucial step is imparting free education to the students.The position on this statement is explained in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly 10% of the world's population is below the poverty line.It is impossible for students of such financial background to cover the expenses in college or university.Due to this those who have excellent academic standards might discontinue due to lack of funds.This is why the government should support such students by providing free education.In India, government has introduced free education till 10 grade in all the states which improved literacy rate drastically.

Although it is important to provide free education , it might not be practically possible considering the country's economic condition.To overcome this the fee for the students can be decided based on the annual income of the family.Students from stable and rich financial background could pay the fee so that this reduces the burden on the government and also aids in supporting those who are in need. Many Institutions of national importance in India are now following the same process where the fee structure of the student is determined by their family income.

To conclude , government should take necessary action to impart education at free cost to as many students possible. It should also keep an eye on the expensive institutions and constantly monitor them .