Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this ?

It is irrefutable fact that a person committing crime should be punished by the law to maintain order in the society.But I believe that the punishments should be decided on considering various other factors.

Firstly ,it is important to identify the root cause for the crime to occur.The gravity of the situation that provoked a person to involve in such dangerous situations must be properly analysed before determining the disciplinary action.For example, consider a child stealing food from a shop or committing a theft.Agreed, that this misconduct is an offense but it is also necessary to note that this act is out of pure desperation for food and the intention is not to harm anyone.Sending the child to a to juvenile home is more justified than sentencing him.Similarly,a father attacking a criminal responsible for assaulting his child is a punishable offense.Although it is these actions birthed from anger and injustice for his ward and not out of malice. So rather than subjecting him to sentencing, a disciplinary action seems justified.

However, government should also have fixed laws for heinous crimes like human trafficking, homicides and rape and many more.It is important to instill a sense of fear of law among the people in society so as to reduce the crime rate.Government should also provide awareness among the people about the repercussions for the actions that threaten human welfare and peace.

To conclude law and the judicial administration should consider various other scenarios and take action against a crime depending on the situation and well being of the society.