Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Student debt is a serious issue in many countries arounf the world these days which is

leadign to a decrease in enrollments to universities over the years.The prompt suggests that college and university education should be fully funded for all

students by the government. I do not completely agree with the assertion, due to the following

three reasons.

Firstly, education today is extremely expensive for most of the students. There are many

factors that contribute to this ballooned tution cost such as faculty salaries,

lab maintainence, dormitory maintanence along with certain additional expenses such as

the costs related to research. Although tution costs for various universities are very

high in several countries such as United States but it also needs to be taken in

consideration, whether government can afford to fund these universities completely.

For example, if all the universities are fully funded by the governemnt the total cost

for all the universities can be a massisve amount that may not be a good idea. Hence, as

university education is not a primary requirement for living, these funds can be utilised

in other neccesseties such as healthcare and primary education.

Furthermore, if the college and university education becomes free of charge, there is no

gurantee that students will not become less serious about the cources they persue.

In current scenario, students ruminate over their decision of chosing the field they

study in university for months before actually taking the final decision. This

leads them to be extremely serious and diligent about the fields they want to persue.

But if the education becomes entirely free, there is no stopping students to enroll

themselves in cources which dont hold any actuak value for them. For instance, if a

student is passionate about coputer science, then they will chose that course only

whether education is free or paid. On the other hand, if a student is not sure what

they want to persue in the future, they may enroll in any number od cources such as music

and arts. This will not only lead to wasting years of the student whileo studying

something which may not hold any value in the fututre, but also leads to wastage of

governemt funds which could be utilised in a better way for far more neccessary things.

Lastly, some people may argue that university cost puts extra burden on students as many have to

opt for education loans for persuing the cources of their interests. This is also

leading to accumulation of immense student debt. Hence, instead of fully funding the

education for all students, government should focus on providing more need and merit based

scholaships which will help deserving students escape this debt circle. For instance,

if a student is performing well in the cources related to the ones they want to enroll

for in the university then they may be rewarded with a full scholarship depending on

extend of need and their financial status. Such steps are already taken by the government,

but increasing their implementation will help a lot of students and education system all

together.

This will not only help students get rid of the financial burden that comes with education

but also help to improve any countries crime rates and overall mental health due to less

educatin loans. This way talented students can right away start earning after leaving

university and support the government through taxes. Therefore, it is a win-win situation for

both parties.