Governments should offer free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The right to education and literacy is an important deciding factor in any country's growth. The statement here mentions that the government should offer free university education to the financially weaker students who got an admit to a university. Students who cannot afford the tuition but are academically strong should have their expenses covered in order to provide equal opportunity. This will not only improve the literacy rate but also act as motivation for students. But the fact that some people in order to receive this financial aid make fake income certificates needs immediate attention. A deeper understanding of the subject is required to reach any conclusion.

Food and shelter are the basic needs of the economically weaker section of the society. Not much attention is paid to the education of their progenies. In such circumstances, if some student is academically bright and wants to pursue a university education government should provide complete support. This will lead to equal opportunity to all the kids irrespective of their economic status. Take for example the case of the great mathematician Ramanujan. Ramanujan came from a poor family but was exceptionally smart. In order to pursue his education at a higher level, he was completely supported by British universities. World organizations like the United Nations should press for the need of generating a uniform academic aid for economically weaker sections.

Providing complete coverage of the fees or expenses will benefit the country's literacy rates. Countries that have a majority of the population below the poverty line, struggle to maintain a decent literacy rate due to shrinking number of students as they reach university. Rising inflation and expenses has led to students dropping out in large number from secondary and high secondary itself. In order to motivate the youth to pursue higher education it is necessary to provide incentives or perquisites in terms of complete fees coverage.

While it is true that economically weaker students require financial coverage there can be drawbacks of such schemes. Most of the time it has been observed that people make false income certificates in order to receive aids. This not only deprives the poor of the help the government is providing but also leads to serious problems of forgery. Grants based on income certificate and other documents mostly do not reach the poor due to corruption. A complete check of the student's background should be conducted before providing any monetary aid.

It is necessary to offer support to the students admitted to a university who cannot afford the expenses. It will improve the literacy rate and motivate students to continue education. Complete expense coverage will also reduce the burden on these families who find it hard to provide quality education to their children. Regular incentives should be provided to the academically exceptional students. In order to provide financial aids, decisions should be based on a complete check of the student's background and family income and not on some documents which can be forged. A meticulously crafted policy with strict laws can be helpful for the youth and families from the economically weaker section of the society.