Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The author here claims that nations should preserve remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gains. While it's true that increasing industrialization, needs cheap land, labor, and resources but we fail to observe the interaction between the industries and nature. The increasing number of factories has to lead to a natural imbalance. It is necessary to preserve the natural habitat of life, in order to have a long and healthy living. But we cannot ignore the fact that the fast-paced world with cutting edge technological advancements requires to convert the forest covers to habitual and industrial areas. A deeper introspection into the topics will give a clearer understanding.

Forests or wilderness areas are the natural habitats for several animals and endangered species. These species cannot survive in a manmade environment thus, become extinct before one can even administer the problem with their shrinking numbers. Take the example, the Bengal Tiger. The majestic species saw a sharp drop in number in the late nineties due to deforestation, poaching, and industrialization of their habitats. To improve the numbers and preserve tigers, Project Tiger was launched in India and, the majority of the tiger habitats were declared as wildlife sanctuaries. Strict imposition of laws will lead to the species flourishing again. In order to preserve the rich flora and fauna, it is necessary to stop the encroachment of forest covers for industrial gains.

Recent times have seen a sharp spike in the pollution levels in cities. Glaciers are melting and flooding the rivers causing widespread destruction. Thick tree cover is required in valleys to bind the soil and refill the groundwater table. Concrete surfaces in the middle of the mountains are the reason why soil erosion and flooded rivers have become a massive problem. Such times require increased tree cover and not techno-parks. The bizarre Australian forest fires lead to massive loss of forests and wildlife. The increasing number of floods, forest fires, a sharp increase in temperature, and a hole in the ozone layer are the clear indication of increasing global warming. Nations should come together to save the remaining wilderness areas in their natural areas to prevent human extinction.

It is true that with the increasing population, mankind requires land for not only industrialization but also for a habitual purpose. For economic gains, it is necessary to cut down the expenses on land and resources but not at the cost of losing wildlife. Forests and uncultivated land provide cheap land for setting up huge industries and colonies. But they also become a threat to the life around it. In order to save the flora and fauna, it is necessary that nations need to maintain forest cover above certain specified limits.

In order to preserve the endangered species and tackle the growing problem of global warming, it is necessary that nations save the remaining wilderness areas in their natural state. Without a healthy lifestyle, it is impossible to make any social or economical progress. Global bodies like the United Nations should lead this agenda to safeguard the wilderness areas, follow strict rules, and punish the guilty.