The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author here claims that limiting the number of mopeds rented by the companies from 50 per day to 25 per day will heavily reduce the moped accidents in lines with the results observed by similar restrictions in the neighboring island of Seaville. While it is true that limiting the number of mopeds rented can possibly reduce the number of accidents but it is not conspicuous. Balmer Island's town council needs to take into consideration the shrinking of business of companies and the problems faced in commuting by the tourist population due to these restrictions. Delving deeper into this issue will paint a better picture.

The statement has not mentioned the reason for moped accidents. It is possible that accidents are caused by poor road infrastructure, faulty mopeds, or failed traffic management. In order to reach any conclusion, the statement needs to provide background information about the infrastructure of the Islands. Given that the Island has a working and efficient traffic management system, the recommendation can be taken into consideration. In order to prevent road accidents, the council can have checkpoints to prevent overspeeding vehicles and manage the pedestrian and vehicle traffic. The council can also work on developing a better road infrastructure with different lanes for pedestrians and mopeds.

The argument posits that decreasing the number of mopeds on the roads will lead to reduced accidents but the argument fails to acknowledge the effect of the decision on the business and livelihood of the island's population. Summers are the time where these businesses make huge profits due to increased tourist population, restrictions at these times can draw severe criticism. In order to strengthen the claim, the author needs to provide statistical evidence about the dependence of the population on the moped business. In case a large number of households depend on the moped business the council cannot implement the recommendation. In order to prevent accidents, the council can instead work a subsidized community transport system and better traffic decongestion.

In order to reach any conclusion, the argument needs to provide statistical evidence regarding the implementation of similar restrictions in Seaville's town. The statement has not mentioned the dependence on mopeds as the means of transportation. The author needs to mention the statistics regarding the use of alternate transport services and the tourist population. In case the tourist population is low it will severely weaken the claims of the author. Mentioning about the road fracture will greatly help the town council to reach to accurate consensus.

In order to evaluate the recommendation for a limited number of motors, it is necessary to answer all the above-mentioned questions. If the argument can provide necessary and sufficient reasoning the recommendation can be considered as a good alternative to prevent accidents between mopeds and pedestrians.