Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Education seeks to enlighten and inspire us but fails to do so completely. We aquire teh graduation degree, but fail to find our complete potential. In an attempt to get the best grades and land the best possible job most of the times, college students ted to ignore their interests and talents. Surely a high paying job can get one all the luxuries, but hte satisfaction of excelling in one's field of interest is unparalleled. Different group of people have contrasting thoughts on the subject of what to pursue for higher studies. While a part of the population believes that students should consider only their talents and interests while choosing their field of study, many seem to disagree. People do believe that the choice of a field of study should be based on the availability of jobs in that field. A deeper look at the subject will surely help reach a better conclusion.

The author here says that talents and interests should be the guiding force while picking the field of study. It is true that conventionally high paying jobs and the field of interest might not intersect, but in long run, one will definately taste success and will be able to avail all the luxuries. Interest and Talent have always pushed people to work harder and get better at their craft. People tend to burn the midnight oil, to outdo themselves everday. Guiding force behind several successful people in any field has always been their passion to achieve more and get better. Take for example the case of Lata Mangeshkar, the famous India singer. Staring in millions of songs, she has been workshipped in the field if Indian Classical Music. Had she switched her career path to a high paying job after facing few failures or rejection, the story would have been completely different. Not only music, the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Mark Zuckerberg, Ramanujan, Einstein all of them credit their success to their interests and passion.

It cannot be disregarded that number of people base their choice on the availaibility of jobs. It is necessary to find a well paying livelihood in order to support oneself and family. Hard work and preservelance can help one achieve whatever they wish to even if they are not natually gifted. Economic stability is a matter of concern for any midlle class human investing lakhs of money in education of their childern and will surely persuade them to take up fields with higher paying jobs. Take for example the case of Reliance Industries. What started as a small company with no family backing in business has over time only grown in both size and success. Founders of all the big companies and startups try to tap the unknown market, which is only possible by following the fields with higher proportion of jobs or success.

Both the arguments about the field of study have equal pros and cons. A thin line exists between the two arguments which is increasingly getting merged. A huge proportion of people are trying to earn a good livelihood by following the field of interest, which has only become possible due to a more diverse curriculum that collges offer. Take for the example the case of Data Science. What seemed like a field requiring high computer science intellect has seen a sharp rise of people pursuing from different domains. The mathematical background on which the field is based on allows everyone to equally explore the domain.

A sharp contrast exists between the two group of people regarding the choice of field of interest. True that availability of jobs play an important role in deciding the field of study, the area of interest of the student should not be ignored. Colleges in current times have very vast and diverse curriculum which allows students to hand-pick their subjects and follows their passion along with pursuing courses with a great job market. A combination of both the arguments to choose the field of study will surely do wonders to the academic and professional lives of college students.