The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author here claims that in order to meet the housing needs of the students at Buckingham College it is necessary to build new dormitories. The statement mentions the growing enrollment numbers and rent of the apartments in the city. While this is a clear indication that students might find it difficult to get houses in the city, it is too early to reach any conclusion. It is necessary to pay attention to a number of details regarding the student's needs before deciding in the favour of building new dormitories. A deeper understanding of the subject is required to evaluate the argument.

The argument has mentioned that the enrollment at Buckingham College is growing and based on the current trends, it will double over the next 50 years. But the statement fails to provide information about what proportion of the students register for the College's dormitories. It is possible that a very less number of students register for these services and the maximum of the student community prefers to stay in the apartments in the town. Since the argument mentions that the rent of the apartments in the town has been on a rise, it can be assumed that the dormitories offer a cheaper housing option. Even though the housing in the dorms is low and the number of people opting for these is low, the administration needs to pay attention to the low numbers and find out the reason. It is possible that the services provided at the dorms are of low quality and need immediate attention. Instead of building new dorms, the college then needs to improve the quality of existing dorms.

There is a high possibility that students prefer apartments over dormitories, the reason being the independence, privacy, and better living conditions that apartments offer. The student community should be included and a statistically variant analysis should be undertaken to look at the trends and needs. Strong evidence against this analysis will surely strengthen the argument of building new dormitories.

Another aspect that needs to be taken care of is how will the building of new dormitories affect the expenses and budget of the college. Does the college have enough funds to sanction this proposal? Will the dormitories lead to an increase in the fees or rent paid by the students? Are students ready to pay higher fees and rent for the new dorms? Answers to all these questions can surely make or break the argument.

Going by the numbers presented by the author about the enrollments at Buckingham College, it is obvious to think that the dormitories are an immediate requirement. But in order to further strengthen the argument, the author needs to provide additional details regarding the quality of services of dormitories in comparison to apartments, the proportion of students opting for dormitories, and the effect of building new dormitories on fees and rent.