Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author here states that some anthropologists recommend that in order to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, it is necessary that all the future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method. The statement mentions about the different ways two noted anthropologists, Dr. Field and Dr Karp used to conclude about the child-rearing practices. Dr. Field used the observation-centered approach to study Tertian culture. He concluded that the children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Dr. Karp on the other hand interviewed children to get the necessary insight. He found out that the children spent much more time talking about their bilogicial parents than about other adults in the village. To decide on the correct technique to obtain accurate information about the child-rearing process it is necessary to delve deeper into the subject and find answers to some questions.

The statement here mentions that when Dr. Karp interviewed the children they spent maximum time talking about their biological parents than about any other adults from the village. This statement does not clearly indicate that they were being reared by only their biological parents. There is a high possibility that Dr. Karp has misinterpreted this conversation. The author also needs to provide accurate information on how many children were interviewed. Were the children under study statistically variant to extrapolate the results? Did all the children belong to a particualr family or region? Did the children interviwed had any special needs and hence were being taken care of only by their biological parents? Did Dr. Karp interview children from different islands and then clubbed all the results? Answers to all these question will surely decide if the recommendation made by the author are reasonable or not.

The statement says that Dr. Karp interviewed the children to learn more about the child-rearing practices in Tertia. In order to get a complete picture of the situation it is necessary that the adults of the island are also invloved in the process. Not only they can provide more trustworthy details, but also mention about the evolution and histoy of the practice. Adults can better explain the reason of the conflicting conclusions. These details will neccessarily strengthen the details and help to reach a better conclusion.

The argument mentions that Dr. Field studied the characteristics of the child-rearing practices of the island of Tertia twenty years ago. There is a huge time gap between both the studies which cannot be ignored. Care must be taken while assuming that the culture of Tertian is time-invariant. It is possible that with time the practices in the island have changed considerably hence the different results. The author must mention about the group that both the anthropologists studied. What if the group of people studied by both anthropologists are different and both the practices of child-rearing co-exist. All these evidences can greatly strengthen the argument.

In order to decide on the better practice to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices and find the best possible way to base the future research on the subject it is necessary the author provides answers to all the above questions with proper reasoning and statistical figures.