A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The author of this thesis here says that the employees with paid sick leaves are less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than the employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. The figures are astonishing and need immediate attention. But there are a few aspects that need to be discussed before jumping to conclusions. It must be asked, what was the sample size of this study, is the study statistically sufficient to generalize over a larger population. Did the study consider all the different classes of workers or was largely focussed on one particular portion of the working class? These factors will help to determine the severity of the problem.

The study took a big leap by assuming that all the work accidents are the result of the pressured working conditions of the sick employee. The study participants need to be asked whether they actually came to the work sick, if yes why? If the workers were forced to work when ill and met with an accident, it will strongly support the argument of the study.

The study has presented the readers with figures, but it has not mentioned what is the reason for these accidents. There might be cases where the accidents were not due to the sick employee, but due to the negligence of the staff or the company. When we consider construction workers, the workers are naturally at higher risk of accidents and mishappening as compared to the people in desk jobs. We need to ask whether the population considered in the study is just limited to a certain type of occupation or only a class of workers. The study needs to clearly indicate whether the figures calculated take in account the chances of some jobs being more dangerous than others. Attention needs to paid to how many people have been part of this study. If a large number of workers were involved, then 28% is a huge figure and needs immediate attention. If not, then the study needs more work and better analysis.

One more point worth noticing here is whether the study considers the problem of the communal spread of disease. A sick worker can lead to the entire team falling sick and thus hamper the progress of the company. If the study can assert with some figures and examples the case of communal spreading of diseases, it will strongly support the hypothesis.

Work-related accidents are not new and need attention and intervention for employee’s safety. Employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during times of illness for fear of lack of pay. This will not only put their lives in danger but will also lead to low quality work. The study here has an interesting observation, but the data presented is not strong enough and needs supporting arguments and figures. Further, it needs to be checked if the data is statistically significant and sufficiently representative. If the study can answer all the above-mentioned questions and present a better analysis, not only better conclusion can be drawn but the researchers can also figure out if this hypothesis is worth the time and effort.