The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that there have been multiple complaints regarding the late-night news show which broadly focusses on national news. The statement mentions that local businesses have canceled their advertisement contract with the company. It is further claimed that the viewers have requested for more coverage on local news and weather details rather than national news. In order to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the author claims that the channel should devote more time to weather and local news than national news. It is highly likely that the author is right, but in order to strengthen his argument, he must provide certain evidence that clearly can lead to the conclusion that restoring the time-division between local and national news will lead to greater profits. A deeper understanding of the subject will help to reach any conclusion.

The statement here mentions that there have been several reports regarding complaints concerning the station's coverage of weather and local news. But the author has failed to provide any statistical numbers as evidence. The proportion of complaints to happy viewers can be very less and in such a case the station cannot resort back to its earlier schedule. In order to further strengthen the argument, it is necessary that the author provides the readers with evident numbers and examples to prove that the new time division is not being welcomed by the viewers.

The argument says that a number of local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with the station. While it is a matter of great concern, it is necessary to look at a clearer picture. Is the cancellation of the contract result of higher pricing of the channel compared to its contemporaries? Have the businesses faced a great loss, which resulted in cutting down of expenses? Is it because the channel's reach has reduced in recent times? The author must mention all these facts to support his case.

To prove that the viewers of the late-night show are not happy with the changes in time division of local and national news only and not any other factor, it is important that the author talks about the quality of these shows. It is possible that the shows reported at the late hour, do not present content of good quality and devote more time to advertisements than actual news. The number of people watching these shows should also be mentioned to give an idea of the reach of the station. Growth or decline in the number of viewers of the station and its competitors needs to clearly mentioned to paint a better picture.

The author must provide answers to all the above questions to help readers reach any conclusion regarding the time-division between local and national news.