An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Vitamin deficiency is considered as the leading cause of unhealthy babies. Insufficient diets lead to malnourished babies. The author here claims that to prevent Vitamin A deficiency the government of Tagus should promote the new engineered breed of millets with high vitamin A content. While it is a valid argument and should not be ignored at any cost, it is necessary to gauge the quality of these new millets before jumping to any conclusion. The government needs to take into account if the millets are safe for the citizens, the expenditure to farm these millets, or export it, and are there any other ways to prevent this deficiency.

The argument here claims that the millets are necessary to eradicate vitamin A deficiency. To further strengthen his point the author needs to provide information regarding the safety associated with these millets. Have these millets been World Health Organization certified? Have the millets undergone necessary animal trials? Have they been deemed fit for consumption? Do the millets have any side effects? There is a high possibility that in order to speed up the production of new millets necessary safety guidelines were not followed by the international development organization. The statement needs to provide figures for the beneficiaries of these millets.

The author mentions that the new millets are necessary expensive to till and the farmers will be paid subsidies to grow this new variety of millets. The statement has not mentioned anything regarding the technology and resources required to produce these millets. While mentioning about perquisites to farmers to farm the new variant, the author needs to mention the requirement of skills and knowledge. Chances are high that farmers don't have adequate knowledge about the process to farm this crop. The author needs to provide information regarding training programs by the Tagus government.

It is necessary to eradicate this deficiency for the prosperous future of Tagus. Nowhere the author has talked about alternate methods to tackle vitamin deficiency. In order to completely enthrall the reader, it is necessary to provide facts and figures regarding the alternative methods undertook by the government to eradicate vitamin deficiency and its results. The author needs to provide a complete picture of the benefits of new variant of millets over other alternatives to cure vitamin deficiency.

Vitamin deficiency can be due to various reasons. It is necessary to reach the root cause. It can be due to improper and undernourished diets or the biological conditions of the parent. If the author can provide information regarding the background of the deficiency and link it to the millets it will certainly strengthen the statement.

In order to predict the result of the recommendation, it is necessary to gauge all the above-mentioned questions. The author needs to provide clear information backed by figures regarding the quality and safety of the millets, government support, and background of the people of Tagus.