In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author here claims that to make a significant contribution it is necessary to be successful before irrespective of the field one is working in. While most of us will strongly agree with this, some of us might say it is not always true. Prior success is an important motivating factor and pushes one to work harder, it is not necessary the first few attempts will fail miserably. A deeper look into the subject is necessary to reach any conclusion.

There is an age-old saying "practice makes a man perfect". It is true that to achieve big one needs to start small and work their way up. But the smaller achievements should be appreciated too. Prior success or failures help one to identify their mistakes and correct them. Take, for example, the mars mission by the Indian Space Research Organization. After the failed attempt to reach the moon, the world's eminent space organization assumed ISRO will not be able to make any significant contribution. The Indian scientists learned worked on their mistakes and decided to launch an even bigger mission than Chandrayan, the mission to Mars. Since it was the first mission to the planet, not many resources were available. Not only the organization completed the mission but also develop a satellite with one-third of the budget of an eminent space organization. This clearly shows in order to reach heights one has to look into the past achievements and failures and draw inspiration from them. Prior achievements help one understand ones' strengths and weaknesses.

One's past achievement can become a motivating force to work harder and put more effort. For example, if one can code simple algorithms quickly and have a tight grasp on the subject it will motivate one to delve deeper into the subjects of interest. Thus, past achievements become a guiding force behind one's success.

Most of us will agree that this is not always the case. In many instances, people have achieved what we call midnight fame or success. What we fail to see here is the amount of hard work that went behind the midnight fame. For example, Mahatama Gandhi, Rosa Parks are heralded as the revolutionaries or non-violent human rights activists who successfully lead a bunch of people against authority by passion and perseverance. They never had the experience of leading people against injustice but learned on the go. It is preposterous to assume that one cannot achieve success without past achievements.

The only thing necessary to make a significant contribution in any field is a glut of passion and hard work. Sure previous achievements can act as a motivating force. There is always room for improvement. Learning from one's mistake, and acting accordingly will lead one to the path of success.