Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Schools play an important part in a child's life. Education and values imparted at the school decide a child's future. Although schools have been seen as learning temples, in current times these are increasingly becoming the reason for increased stress and anxiety in children. Due to an outdated curriculum and cutthroat competition children are bound to books and heavy bags. Schools are supposed to nurture children, help them develop imagination, and make them a better human. All these things are not possible by sitting in a classroom and mugging up textbooks. Although schools are necessary for any child's upbringing it is important to bring necessary changes in the curriculum to make the experience more wholesome and stressfree.

India has seen huge changes in education policy. Before the British moderated the education policy the education imparted in the country was based more on the practical training rather than the theoretical aspect of it. With the reforms of East India Company, formal schools were set up and a rigid examination system was put in place. This required students to resort to mugging up rather than actually learn the concept behind various things. Rabindranath Tagore's Shantiniketan was the fresh breeze the country needed to free children from the clutches of regressive education. These institutions provided students with necessary practical training to earn livelihoods and were the centers of excellence for art, cinema and music. A very little to no change has been bought in the working of schools and formal education until recent times. Increased anxiety and depression rates depict the clear picture of how the education system in the country in restraining children from pursuing what they actually want and forcing them to take up conventional professions.

In the recently concluded monsoon session of the Parliament in India, numerous changes have been proposed by the government. These have been welcomed by the student and parent community. The new policy allows the students to break away from conventional subjects and choose subjects that they wish to learn. Such changes are the need of the hour. Equal importance to sports and extra-curricular activities is necessary to help children get an overall experience. Formal conventional education has chained the students to books and benches, eschewing them from the experience of practical learning. Formal education does not provide them with the necessary knowledge required once they are out of school and college. Change is the only constant. It is necessary to bring about necessary and apropos changes.

Recent times have seen an increased number of homeschooled children. Parents prefer to teach their kids a complete and inclusive range of subjects which allows children to learn in a stress-free environment. Home schooling is a good alternative to formal education since it allows parents to keep a track of their children performance. Schools need to generate a more free atmosphere, where the prime concern is learning and not scoring the highest marks. Cut-throat competition is not the right kind of environment that kids should be allowed to experience at a young age. The focus should be on a more diverse and inclusive curriculum.

Schools have always been regarded as the temple of knowledge. It is necessary to maintain their stature, by bringing a constantly evolving curriculum. Care should be taken to make a stressfree and learnable environment to impart not only knowledge but also values. A curriculum that underscores practical learning is required. Students should be encouraged to participate in sports and extracurricular activities. This will engender more confident, skilled, and knowledgeable individuals.