Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Archaeology and excavations have resulted in discovering several heritage sites and objects of cultural importance. Numerous items from Indus Valley Civilization have been found recently from the cities of Harappa and Mohenjodaro. These excavations give us an insight into the lifestyle of early man. The argument here talks about the discovery of woven baskets in Palea and Lithos. These baskets were first discovered at the prehistoric village in Palea, which led to the belief that the baskets originated in Palea and were only made by the Palean people. But the recent excavations at Lithos has questioned this belief. The argument here believes that the baskets are not authentic to Palean people, but have originated in different villages with a bit variation. The statement has not provided any information regarding transportation and trade between two towns or the timeline of the Brim river.

The argument has failed to provide us with ample information to decide the origin of these baskets. Although it does mention that no Palean boat has been found until now, thus shutting down the prospect of water transport between Palea and Lithos. But the hypothesis fails to tell the reader that if any other mode of transportation was available in the prehistoric times. It might be the case, there is or was a land cover connecting these two villages and thus led to the exchange of ideas and resources.

The argument has not mentioned details about the trade and commerce between the two villages. There might be the case that the two villages were dependent on each other for survival. Take, for example, the case of cities of Harappa in Pakistan and Lothal in Gujrat. Both the towns were flourishing centers for socio-economic exchanges of the Indus Valley Civilization. Separated by a stretch of deserts and rivers, several excavations have been found in these cities providing evidence of transport and trade. The possibility of trade and commerce between Palea and Lithos will play an essential role in deciding the origin of these baskets.

Most importantly, the argument fails to present the timeline of the Brim River. There is a high possibility that the Brim River originated much later to this civilization, and the two villages were connected by land. There are high chances that the towns might not be in direct contact but may have a transport route through another town. The author needs to discuss this prospect to strengthen the argument.

To decide the origin of the woven baskets, it is necessary to consider many other factors influencing the bilateral links between both the villages. There are high chances the villages were involved in active trade and commerce. Improved studies need to be carried out to determine the timeline of the Brim river. The argument has failed to provide the readers with the necessary information. Further investigation of these metrics needs to be carried out to strengthen the argument.