Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that Plainsville has health-conscious citizens who actively indulge in fitness activities and hence Nature's Way store will be highly successful. The statement mentions that the sales of running shoes and exercise clothes are very high, there are numerous health clubs with aerobics and weight training classes. The statement also says that school children are also a potential market since they have to participate in a fitness-for-life program. While all this leads to the assumption that the store will be highly successful in the city of Plainsville, the statement has a number of loopholes. A deeper introspection in the topic will allow the reader to reach any conclusion.

The argument claims that the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. It is possible that the city of Plainsville provides cheaper and more variety of these goods hence people from other cities tend to flock here to purchase them. The statement has not provided any details on if the sales have been always been high, or recent times have seen a higher number of purchases. It is possible that the merchants are talking in a relative term. The sales of the other goods are lower than usual hence they find decent sales of running shoes and exercise clothing higher. In order to prove that the residents of the city of Plainsville lead healthy lives, it is necessary that the author provide details with statistics regarding the sales of these goods to the residents of the city. The author should also mention about the buying capacity of the residents. Do people prefer buying food and health-related products from stores or local markets? Are there any pre-existing stores selling the items that the store wishes to target? What is the growth trajectory of the pre-existing stores?

The statement also mentioned the health clubs. According to the author, the clubs have more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. To prove that the residents of Plainsville are health conscious, the author must present the numbers of members throughout the year and not just a particular season. It is possible that a higher number of members are due to the holidays and extended weekends. The argument needs to mention the activities the members of these clubs indulge in. There is a high possibility that the clubs are more likely to be leisure centers or amusement parks or meet and greet places. The argument needs to provide certain evidence regarding the health of the citizens to strengthen its claims such as average weight, numbers relating to malnutrition, etc. Full aerobics classes can be an indication of an obese society. Instead of providing details regarding the aerobics classes, the argument must mention about health index of the city from a case study.

Another aspect that the statement has mentioned is school children being a potential market to increase the sales of the stores. The statement mentions that school children are required to participate in a fitness-for-life challenge. In order to tap this new market, the store needs to study the challenge completely and cater to the needs of these children. The store can go one step further and collaborate with schools to provide goodies at discounted prices. This will surely give the store an upper hand.

Although the statement has mentioned numerous points to support the argument that the store will do great profit in the city of Plainsville, it needs to provide additional information. If the author can provide a statistical analysis of the health of the citizens it will further strengthen the argument. Nevertheless, the statement should incorporate answers to the above questions in order to support the cause.