Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author here claims that in any field - business, politics, education, government - those in power should step down after five years to reinvent the success of the enterprises with new leadership. It is very conspicuous that new leadership will bring fresh ideas to the table, and with the combination of passion and experience, the enterprise can reach new heights. Frequent changes in the power holders rejuvenate the company but can also lead to instability and losses.

It is true that new leadership will bring about changes necessary in the company. A new leader if an old employee of the company would be experienced enough to know the shortcomings of the process. A new leader will also bring new ideas. Take, for example, the case of Microsoft. Microsoft's Windows has been the sole player in computer operating systems since the early nineties but has failed to tap the smartphone market. Under the leadership of Bill Gates, the company was continuously pushing for phones with Windows as the operating system. It was not only difficult to use but lacked many salient features, that the other smartphones were promising the customers. When Satya Nadella took over as the chief executive officer of the company, he worked on adapting to the changing circumstances, offering the market with a wide variety of smartphones to choose from. This is a clear example of how a company's success is revitalized through new leadership.

The argument claims that after a tenure of five years those in power should retire. This not only gives a chance to the younger generation but also creates a more democratic process. If the power to choose the next leadership is vested in the hands of all the employees, it gives them a sense of belongingness. The power should always be decentralized and frequent changes in leadership prevent the ideals of the company becoming dictatorial. In case the new leadership is passed to the spouse or offspring of the current leader, it will surely hamper the progress of the enterprise.

While frequent leadership changes have a lot of benefits, it can lead to instability in the enterprise too. It is possible that the newly elected candidate is not familiar with the work and might end up taking wrong decisions affecting the enterprise severely. One needs to consider if the company is ready to let go of the experience of the current leader has for new ideas. The old leader might be at the height of their excellence, replacing them at this point in time will lead to the loss of a great leader. What if the new leader is not acquainted with enough experience to run the company and ends up sacking the profitable policies? Consider the case when Steve Jobs stepped down as the CEO of Apple and was shortly reappointed. A time span of at least ten years will be more suited to business and educational enterprise while five years of tenure has seemed to work fine with government officials. Preferably if the new leader can be elected before there is ample time for the old one to retire, it will give the new leader opportunity to closely observe it's predecessor's work.

The argument here claims that those in power in any field should step down after a tenure of five years to reinvent the success of the enterprise. It is necessary to see how the new leadership is being elected. Bringing new leadership can not guarantee the success the company aims to achieve but frequent changes in leadership will surely bring fresh ideas and decentralize the power.