The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Alexander the Great once said, " I am not afraid of an army of lions lead by a sheep, I am afraid of an army of sheep lead by a lion. It has been rightly said that cooperation is the key to success. In order to make the future generation ready to take up leadership in several fields, it is necessary that a sense of cooperation and team work is instilled in them. Excessive competition has always lead to breakdown. For a society to prosper, it is necessary to lay a strong foundation of confident, cooperative and enthusiastic younger generation.

It has been rightly said that learners today, are the leaders tomorrow. People who stress on learning more than achieving have always turned about to be better leaders. For example, the billionaire Dhirubhai Ambani, the owner of Ambani Enterprise. He started very young, as an employee at a petroleum pump and worked his way up. To enlarge his business he always collaborated with businesses instead of standing against them. This not only made his company bigger but also helped the smaller enterprises to flourish. The society must always teach the younger generation by setting examples and role models who have valued learning.

It is a very popular saying, there is no I in a team. A combined effort bears the ripest fruit. Not only competition breaks down people, but it also takes aways the collaborative efforts. Collective effort leads to lesser individual work and greater results. For example, the National Freedom struggle of India. It would not have been possible to get independence only by the efforts of a few individuals. Hard-earned freedom is the result of the efforts of a large group. A team that works together, stays together. To reach the zenith in their field, it is necessary to be tolerable and cooperative of each other.

Although competition can bring out the best in a person, excess of everything has always been bad. Mental stress, office politics to name a few of the problems originating from excessive competitiveness. Companies or institutes who have centralized the power in the hands of a single individual have had a devasting fate. For example, the dictatorial government of Hitler. Hitler always wanted to have complete control of power and used regressive methods to suppress revolts. On the other hand, several colonies of British England could flourish due to control being divided among a group of people. A team working together for the larger good eventually benefits everyone.

It is important to train young people early and educate them on the importance of cooperation than competition. Everyone in the current scenario is aware of the cutthroat competition which has resulted in anxiety and depression. Instead, if the society works on building a more communal environment, it will lead to prosperity and development. In ancient times also, although the king was the highest authority in any kingdom, he had a bunch of people by his side, to correct him when he goes wrong and help him make the most difficult decision. We need to learn from our predecessors and build a more collaborative society for a larger good.