The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Common man is the most important pillar of a successful government after legislature, executive, and the judiciary. The difference between democracy and oligarchy is the division of power. While oligarchy vests the power to run the society in the hands of a bunch of people, democracy on the other hand divide it equally in everyone. Every individual of the society has a right to question authority about its working and progress in a democratic setup. A progressive and liberal society requires a free flow of information. In order to work for the betterment of the masses, the authority needs to take its constituents into confidence. To bring peace and stability, the authority must always listen to its people and provide them satisfactory answers.

Changes in the legislature due to protests by the common man is not a new routine. Numerous laws and policies have been amended. Take the example of the Anti-corruption bill, Hundreds of people took to the streets to demand a fair and transparent law to castigate the guilty. This is a clear example of the enhancement of the well-being of society by questioning those in power. While the government has always claimed that these policies are for the betterment of the common man and will make their lives easier, many times the masses are not convinced by the answers. Such times require a combined effort to push for changes in the laws. Recently there has been a lot of protests against the CAA-NRC and farmers' bill. People are not been convinced by the information provided by the government, which has led to resentment in the masses against the elected executive. The Right to Information(RTI) Act provides every individual power to question the authority at any step of its working and demand a clear roadmap of its policies. Continuous scrutinization of the work of the government brings about the mandatory changes and enhances the power of the common man.

Questioning the authority not only brings about the necessary changes but also keeps a continuous check on the powers of the elected leaders. It is possible that the elected council can use these powers to favor the rich and influential. Although Judiciary plays the role to keep a constant check on the powers of the elected leaders, in many cases the executive has tight control over the judiciary. Such times require people to come together and resent the authority and demand their rights. For example, The PM Cares Fund. The fund was set up by the esteemed prime minister to help the COVID-19 warriors and patients and to be a one-step donation center. Recently, the fund has been under scrutinization. No details have been provided regarding the expenditure of the funds. The fund does not come under the RTI act thus rendering the common man helpless and taking away their right to question how their money is being spent. Not providing information can lead to growing sentiments against the people's servant and thus result in a failed system.

It is possible that regularly questioning the authority can slow down the process of decision making, but it is a necessary step to take. In case the public is not involved in the decision-making process, there are high chances of authority passing bills to favor the influential and suppress the protest. This will lead to instability and a more dictatorial government. The core principle of the democratic society is the inclusion of the common man at every step of decision making.

Difference of opinion is necessary to get a complete outlook of the subject. To enhance the well-being of society it is necessary that people constantly question authority. Keeping a check on the powers of the elected leaders and executive is necessary for a progressive and developing society. Equal division of power will bring about a sense of responsibility on the shoulders of the masses and will lead to a prosperous society.