A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Schools are the temples of education. Schools imbibe the right values and knowledge in the children and help them become better individuals. Any country should educate the students with a national curriculum for homogeneous education. It is necessary that schools follow a fixed curriculum with equal weightage to sports and extra-curricular activities. While it will lead to the overall development of the students there is a high possibility that the state can use this to spread propaganda and instigate their policies from an early age. A deeper understanding of the subject is necessary to reach any conclusion.

A state-run curriculum will not only lead to a more homogeneous system but also help students to delve deeper into the history of their nation. It will connect them to the roots and help them understand the function of several institutes in place. A government decided curriculum on the working of several institutes of national importance can provide the necessary insight needed and encourage children to serve their nation. On top of this, a homogeneous curriculum with equal weightage to extra-curricular activities will lead to a better work-life balance for children. It will take away the excess burden from kids and save them from the cutthroat competition.

In order to make the students ready for the challenges of adult life, it is necessary to start early and educate them with a number of things of practical importance. The current education system although teaches how to use Pythagoras theorem to calculate the hypotenuse of a right triangle, no information about opening a bank account or filing taxes is provided in schools or colleges, something which is of greater use. In a case a national curriculum is implemented mandating schools to organize lectures regarding finance will be a great success.

Although the same national curriculum has numerous benefits, there is a high possibility that the state-run policy cannot cater to the needs of every student. Every child has different needs. Some of them are better at sports than academics. Mandating all the children to follow a strict routine will take away their chance to experiment and find out what they are good at. It is necessary that the homogeneous system caters to all these needs. For example, the new education policy proposed by the Indian government allows students to take electives of their choice with a few mandatory core subjects to provide the right mix of education. Such freedom allows students to get the right knowledge as well as explore their interests.

In order to provide the students with neutral education, it is necessary that a constant check on the education policy is maintained to prevent the state from spreading propaganda. A high chance of government or the authority using the education policy to spread hatred cannot be ignored. For example, the state of China has a very strict and rigorous curriculum to shred away the negative image of the Communist Party by teaching them twisted facts. This helps the party to get easy and early support. The judiciary should keep a constant check on the roadmap of such policies.

A national homogenous curriculum, on one hand, can take away the anxiety and cutthroat competition among students but on the other hand, can lead to fewer choices and extinction of certain valuable information. Before formulating any such policy it is necessary that the government pays attention to all the above-mentioned points and take into consideration the requests of students and parents to provide quality education to the young.