"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument here claims that the reduced number of shoppers in Central Plaza is due to the increased number of skateboard users in plaza. The author has made a very vague conclusion by linking the number of shoppers to skateboarders without providing any supporting arguments. In order to prohibit skateboarding in the plaza, it is necessary to delve deeper and look at the sales of the plaza and vandalism.

The argument has not provided any details about the quality and pricing of the goods and services sold. In a span of two years, it is possible that the quality of the good of store owners has heavily degraded, hence customers prefer other Plaza with goods of better quality at lower prices. The argument has also not mentioned any details about the inflation in the pricing of goods and services offered. The store owners in order to increase their profits might have increased the price of goods exorbitantly. Thus losing business and customers to other plazas.

The statement has not provided any information regarding the development of any new plaza is nearby which can be a possible reason for reduced sales. It is highly possible that other plazas provide better services hence drawing more customers. The plaza might not be providing good infrastructure to shop and store owners, which could have lead to shutting down of a good number of shops. On the other hand, it is possible that the customers find all the goods and services at reasonable rates under one roof in plazas that have developed nearby. The author needs to provide complete information regarding the number of shops shut down, sales of the plaza, and quality of services offered.

The author mentions that the plaza has seen increased vandalism and litter. But at no point, the statement mentions how this could have been the result of an increased number of skateboarders. Increased vandalism and littering could be the result of mismanagement and unkept stores. The author needs to provide more details about the relation between vandalism and skateboarders.

The argument has been very quick to jump to conclusions and predictions that if the skateboarding is prohibited the business in Central Plaza will return to its previous heights. In order to bring back it's business and customers Central Plaza needs to do a deep inspection of it's working and services provided. The author needs to answer all these questions relating to sales and management. Only then an unbiased conclusion can be reached.