GOVERNMENTS SHOULD PLACE FEW, IF ANY, RESTRICTION ON SCEINTIFIC RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

Scientific research is the back bone of development of the world as well as individual countries. Scientific research is the power of imagination of humans and portrays efficacy of a human brain, though it could be said that not it reflects strength of different scientists serving for a particular nation or as an individual. Science is heterogeneous composed of good as well as bad inventions to an extent to which it could benefit mankind as well seriously harm the presence or extinct the human race.

So the prompt recommends that government should restrict the research work to an instinct which is safe to human kind so if any kind of potential threat which could hinder or cause harm to the humans as well as the environment is forestalled. Scientific research has become so advanced that in my apprehension it could shape the world as we imagine, not exactly but close to over imagination. Though similar to positive outcomes there are chances of negative and threatening outcomes as well, due to which I mostly agree with the prompt that there should be certain amount of restrictions on scientific research and development to eliminate or control the negative outcomes, as per my perception it should be strictly implemented due to following reasons.

To begin with, most of the scientific research’s are related to disease in human body which is one of the most important area of research but as I mentioned earlier as there are positive outcomes there are negative outcomes as well, for example if a new drug is invented by a pharmaceutical scientist related to cure of kidney stones in the form of capsules and which minimize the surgical removal of stones, though it may cure kidney stone but only after certain patients have had an dose then only it can be judged if it works properly without any side or harmful effects, though medicines are tested on controlled conditions or on a particular cluster of humans before full fledge commercial selling. But that doesn’t means it won’t affect other human bodies, it could be harmful for certain patients. For example in America in 1999 a drug called paracitamol tablet was full fledged as a cure of general cold which had an many registered cases of side effects in which people had acne on there whole body and due to which the drug was banned in the united states.

Its not limited to just pharmaceuticals each and every aspects of science has its merits and demerits for an instance in 1990’s usa, china, Russia, india and all the other major counties were planning to use nuclear capabilities being nuclear powered counties but after they saw the consequences of nuclear attack which happened in hirosima and Nagasaki they restricted the usage of nuclear weapons though being an nuclear capable country is an achievement but its use could threaten the human race as a whole and is capable to destroy our species so, restrictions are implemented on nuclear weaponries.

To conclude there should be restrictions on research which has an negative impact to the world or environment in which we live in and there should be encouragement in the research which benefits the world and human kind, like internet which revolutionized everything today without living internet is like living in stone age, though in the past it seemed like a dream to achieve what we have today but science in a controlled and restricted manner has a capability to change the world.