Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There is no doubt that scientific discoveries play a huge role in development of a nation. The significant part that helps in determining the growth of a country is played by it's investments in research

Thus restricting it by placing many stringent rules may cause detrimental effects. This aspect will be delineated in the following paragraphs.

Science has always made man wonder and dared him to dream the impossible. It has confounded him, dazzled him or even disappointed him but the relationship between human race and men have always been continuous and progressive. Science has helped us cure some of the most debilitating diseases of the past , given us wings to fly, made us self-sufficient in agriculture terms and revolutionized the field of medicine.

Consider the example of the doctor who discovered the cause of ulcer by drinking the bacterial culture of Pylori. He did it out of sheer love and passion of the subject which ultimately benefitted millions of people. Had the government during his time made a law prohibiting it, we might not have known the cause. Another famous example would be discovery of vaccines. Edward Jenner tested the first vaccine on a child without knowing the result of it. Had he been restrained from doing that due to some legal reasons, the recent ebola or swine flu outbreak would have wiped of the entire population due to lack of knowledge about vaccines.

This is the scenario in the contemporary world too. Thousands of scientists are testing their ideas on animals and humans so that they can produce results that is for the greater good. Scientists are people who should spend enormous amount of time thinking originally or 'Out of the box' to come up with an idea that has never tested before. Placing constraints on their thought process by limiting their options and choices will only hamper it. Consider, what would have happened if Wright brothers were not allowed to use some specific parts of the engine of the plane because of some governmental procedure. We would have never been able to fly! People only dare to dream if they have nothing to stop them.

While it is true that government is responsible for every activity that takes place under it's presidency, if it tries to control or micromanage every single aspect ,it will ultimately lead to chaos and lack progress. It is human tendency to be frustrated and get distressed if our options are limited.

There are millions of diseases that are still incurable. Something like common cold does not have a solution yet. While being optimistic about the future of such discoveries, scientists should be provided with a platform to perform their work with independence and be given the benefit of the doubt.

Having said that, one should not forgot that scientists are also humans and they are subjected to the element of error. Especially in research studies or clinical trials involving humans, the amount of precautions taken should be enormous. Blindly approving an idea is not a sign of good governance. Thus the government should do proper analysis of which area requires careful scrutiny and make laws and ensure that the science field follows it and remove the superfluous ones that may cause more harm than good. Finally, history has shown us that a nation that has learnt the art embracing and supporting science has always progressed and the lives of people were happier.