Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Development in the scientific reasearch has helped a human race to advance at such a extent. Curious mind of a human has invented countless things to make lives better, on the other hand to take those lives also. I partially agree with the author’s statement, as there are two sides of coin.

Firstly, scientific advancements has taken us to the moon and soon probably to the mars. This wouldn’nt have happened if we have stopped these scientists from their discoveries. In ancient era, it was considered as a sin to cut up deadbodies but, this didn’t stop some curious minds from discovring the human body parts. Moreover, if there wouldnt have been any development in medcines, people still would have been dying because of dangerous diseases like ChickenPox, Plague, Polio. Scientific researches have become the necessity of the world.

Secondly, same science which helps in curing and betterment of lives can also take those live. Over the centuries, there have been shocking invetsntions in weaponaries. While some may claim that weapons are supposed to defend ourselves, our people but, these lethal ineventions has numerous lives. We all know the “Heroshima-Nagasaki” tragedy, development in nuclear bombs, atom bombs destroyed 2 cities in seconds. People saw how devastating this invention was, then many countries came together to form United Nations and to sign treaty against the use of nuclear power. On the other hands same weapons can be used to defend borders of the countries from enemies.

If Governments put few restrictions on such research, tragedies like heroshima nagasaki can be avoided. However, Government should be very careful about restricting the research areas as it can hamper the potential ideas, discoveries, and inventions.