Governments should place few if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Research and development is a developing process and it is essential in various ways. The standards and methods of living can be more sophisticated by developing new technologies. The prompt recommends that for the organizations performing scientific research government must impose some restrictions for them. In my opinion, I partially agree with this recommendation due to following reasons.

To begin, scientific research is done to discover various things which will be useful to us. It helps us to lead a better life day by day. As a part of experiments, it may be necessary to use various materials which may be not eco-friendly. This may lead to polluting environment by releasing harmful gases. In such cases, it is necessary for the government to protect health and lives of people. It may impose restrictions like using those gases to a minimum level and in a place far from the cities and villages.

Further, if the deleterious materials are used in any research, then they must be stored and protected in a secured place. If these materials are used by normal people, it may lead to disaster. For example, in nuclear reactions uranium element is used in reactors for fission processes. They multiply adequatelyin a short span. If this material is used by normal people there may chances of fire accidents. These are such cases where government must put on some mandatory restrictions to secure harmful materials in a confined place.

And also the procedures and data used for any invention is to be kept in secured place. If there is data breach, then the procedures can be leaked. this leads to duplicity of invention and may not get the required credit for our development. In such cases, government must keep provide restricted security to protect the inventions.

However, if the inventions are done using harmful materials and processes, it will destroy environment and harmful to living organisms. Hence, in such type of cases also nation can impose restrictions to use environment friendly materials like renewable sources for research. It will also help in reducing global warming and doesn't effect human and wildlife.

However, there are some cases where some researchers can't be done without harmful procedures. Such researches must be done with precautionary measures. Hence, it is important for government to impose restrictions on research labs for people 's health and also enivormental friendly.