GRE ISSUE A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for th

Education is the driving force for individual growth as well as nation building. The way a country educates it's citizens decides the future of country in itself. The given prompt here suggests that, until the students enter college, they should have a common curriculum whatsoever. I completely disagree with the authors argument to enforce a common syllabus across the nation for following reasons.

Firstly, each child is different and they develop individual interest in subjects the learn. Not everyone will like same thing. Consider an example were a child is passionate about playing a guitar. Once he is clear about his motive to be a musician, there should not be any hindrance in his path of being a consummate Guitarist. If a common curriculum is enforced, this child still has to study biology even though it serves no purpose to his interest. Moreover if this student facing difficulties in handling a particular subject which is not even necessary for his growth, it might discourage him about his abilities to pursue music as well. Therefore enforcing a common syllabus makes the life of a passionate individual kid miserable.

Additionally, A nation might constitute of diverse cultural states in it's own. For instance mother tongue of kids in each state might be different. Consider a country like India which is so diverse that there are 10 official languages countrymen speaks.

in situations like this, a nation can not just enforce one language to be studied by every cultural. Attempting to teach all these languages to everyone across the nation is practically impossible. Hence, There should be a provision to learn the language which represents the culture of that state in particular. Ignoring this diverse nature and enforcing a single language would lead to death of many cultures.

Some might argue that, to have the feeling of oneness within the nation a common curriculum is needed. But such enforcement especially while studying a language is more like enforcing one religion or one race that would ultimately lead to the death of other languages and hence such attempts in education should be discouraged.