The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Many people would bolster that the greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries. In some sense, the greatness of individuals can indeed be decided after their posthumous because eminency after the death can indicate that the greatness is perpetual not just followed by the trend of contemporaries. Yet, I still believe the greatness of individuals can be decided not only by those who live after them but also by their contemporaries.

Of course, recognizing after the great individuals’ death is indeed capitulating because it implies that the individuals have had the superior skills and still it is renowned until the current society. Also, there are always people who are not very understood by their contemporaries; as time proceeds, their traces become fully understood and gain popularity. Vincent Van Gough is the epitome of the argument - posthumous popularity. He was not well-known as an artist when he was alive, but now everyone in the world has at least heard about the artist and seen the artwork of Vincent Van Gough. Some people would assert that contemporaries society has smattering knowledges to understand the greatness of individuals, which needs to be well construed after their lives.

Nevertheless, it does not necessarily right that greatness can be measured only after the deaths. The greatness should be considered regardless of time frame; if one person has done astonishing progress in one specific field, the person needs to be touted by contemporaries society and by those who lived after. For example, Einstein and Wandy Warhol are the most ineffable heritage of modern society as a scientist and an artist, respectively. These two men were considered highly valuable and extolled during their alive periods with all their progress, and even after their death, we are still well aware of their popularity. Like the example mentioned right above, the greatness of individuals should be considered and measured no matter what time frame people are in.

In addition, in terms of contemporary society, we have enormous great individuals who live the same period as ours. Athletics, soldiers, doctors, and so on; these people or any vocations which are worthies to get praised are already fully aware by the contemporious people. For example, in every Olympics, all people from the world become egregious and give the biggest applaud to athletics. Or doctors who are in the middle of the COVID pandemic are fully well recognized by citizens for their labored work. What is the point if these people are going to be well famous after their death, not at this moment?

To sum up, despite examples of considering the greatness of individuals after their deaths, there are peoples, also, who are well recognized with their greatness currently. Taken together, the greatness of individuals should be considered regardless of the period when the individuals are located.