The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Is greatness of individual to be decided only by those who live after them or by their contemporaries? I personally think that getting recognized only after death is an issue. Majority would prefer to get cherished

for their greateness during their lives. Unfortunately, this issue was always present throughout the history. For example newton whose work was only recognized after his death. However, modern environement

fortuitously allows us to assess each other's greateness and praise each other. In academic community, the means of evaluation serve conferences where one's work is perusely asessed and presented to the large

audience if it proves to be valuable.

Our legacy has provided us with numeores examples in which a person who would speak widsom, but instead of being cherished they were often rejected from the soiciety or were considered heretic.

For example Newton, a famous researcher in physics everyone today knows about, was severely underrated during his life.

He lived near the poverty line and his work was rotting unnoticed. Only after his death his works were recognized and admited to have been important.

While there were few other scientists who were aware of his talent, his work only got popular attention only after the death. Fortunately, sometimes the contrary can be true.

In today's society, people are aware of the historical facts where people were recognized only after their death. Since majority feels uncomfortable about being discovered only after they've died, these issues

have been adressed. There are ways for people to get known during their lives. For example, in research community there are many ways to get attention of your contemporaries.

In case of newton, there were no (or not strong enough) research associations such as IEEE, IFAC, or AIII that would sure that all the novel work in the respective fields gets attention

and the praise they deserve. So, in today's world we luckily have means of deciding whether someone is great or not. For example, even my recent work in optical character recognition got attention of the public

on the IFAC conference and our work will soon be published.

In summary, while the past showed that there were no laudable means of getting known in the life. Today this issue has been adressed in various ways and we often get recognize for our greateness during our lives.