Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Merit based salaries have been attempted in many different fields with varying success. They are pretty effective in fields with easily quantifiable results such as software development or hardware engineering, but less practical with professions with multi-faceted or long term results. Teachers fall in the latter category and should not recieve salaries based solely on tne students' academic performacne.

Firstly, judging solely by academic performance ignores a teachers impact on students' mental health and other not-easily quantifiable influence. the children, especially in their earlier years are developing up not only academically, but also mentally. As people who guide them for a large portion of their school life can have signficant impact on general development of the students. For example my algebra teacher was the one to engrain the importance of scientific method in our minds, my grad-school geography teacher made remember the long term disadvantages of cheating through vivid visualizations. While such actions didn't directly impact the academic performance of the students, they are integral to forming chidlren into fully fledged members of the society. The proposed method would not account for this, thus thus unfarily evaluating teachers' contributions.

Furthermore, such a method can incentivize instructors to only focus on quitefiable results. Teachers might try to influence chidlren's academinc performance by narrowing the focus, getting rid of general education portions of the class, fully ignoring students less likely to improve their scores. Gone would be discussions with the mathematics professor about applied mathematics in computers, history teachers' attempts to help students overcome public speaking anxiety, and many other nuances that help foster soft and transferable skills in students. Morover, such an approach could incentivize borderline unethical behaviour prof the instructors. Like sharing notes exceedingly similar to the exams, dumbing down the subjects, and even resorting to the grade iunflation.

It has to be mentioned that implementing merit based system. Teachers might be encouraged to try out new teaching methodologies, devote more time and attention to classes, and reexamine their approach. Though, a scoring based only on the academic achivement could hardly avoid the pitfalls mentioned above. Consequently, developing a more complex system might be desirable.

In conclusion, I would say that due to multificeted nature of a teacher's influence on the children, students academic performance isn't enough to fairly judge the instructors contribitions, and can encourage detremental practices, thus such a system should not be implemented.