The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The history has shown a number of great thinkers underrepresented through years. People struggled to get their ideas out to public due to the myriad of different circumstances which only prove to be a minor problem to a great outbreak in this or that sphere. Still we have heard of pianists, artists who were appreciated during their lifetime and are also seen as classicists nowadays. I believe that many great individuals can be living in one century, but understood after ten others pass, and yet some will be truly there after the first time people hear of them. Yet, the true greatness is determined by being timeless, therefore it holds that geniuses could be found only after time passes and their truths stand.

Probably most people have heard about Beethoven, or at least heard some of his pieces. If nothing critically changing will happen, people in next centuries will appreciate him just as much as we do these days. His work is not dependent on his surroundings and neighter is its effect. Nomatter where, when or how you get to know the work of the

"great" you will understand how amazing it is. Still, we all know that he was not that much of known for being amazing during his lifetime.

The particular example of one person may be close to showing the part of the general picture, but I would not be speaking depending only on it. Also, it is not only about artists that their genius has to be timeless, as the same goes with the scientists. One may develop a theory which can not be understood at a time and only believed after a number of other findings. But, this is only one side of the coin. The other thing is that if it is believed at the time to be great, but then seen as unnecessary, or fraud, it was probably never that great after all. Therefore, only time can prove of how much importance one outbreak in the century was.

On the contrary, let's take a person who was believed to be outstanding at his time and think about musicians again, this time Mozart. He was believed to be great at his time, disgraced, but many saw his special abilities. It never hurt that his time of believed to be great started during his lifetime, but would we believe him to be more than any other good composer if he was living nowadays? Some probably would, but before his works have been tested by years of a chance of being forgotten nobody would be able to surely call him a genius. After all that is a word for somebody better that others in a serious period of time, and before we have a chance to see some similarities and differences, there is no point in making assumptions. Then also, what if the greatness is something we see in a person in a moment. While somebody in a theatre is performing, when a presenter is excited about his/her topic, when we see a kid helping out a person in a street, we sure feel that those people are at a kind of spotlight of being special for a second. They are great in a moment of being seen.

There is also a question of deciding what a greatness is. Is it something that leaves a mark after itself? Something that helps others to develop considering it? Then yes, as we have seen, to be sure in these traits we need time, its consequences. I believe greatness is more than being a "change" in one particular second, it's a change that gives future a different outlook only because this greatness existed. Great things are what is inside many of the contemporaries we see, it is the grade to which it is used during their lifetimes that matters after all. Therefore it cannot be counted until the end, its accumulated through life and what it leaves is what it becomes. Whatever the greatness we encounter, there is a chance of spreading it if a person is still able to make a change, make it greater while there is one last breath.