The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

It is a matter of the common knowledge that the modern society relies heavily on the cooperation and competition on both individual and organizational level, still, some people argue that preparing the next generation's leaders for cooperation is more important, I disagree and will try to justify my position.

Firstly, it is important to acknowledge the benefits of cooperation. Having a better teamwork can lead to deeper specialization, improved communication, and can help achieve far bigger goals than an individual could on their own. but while a team is most effective when each of the members has a distinct identity and a role, young people need to experience different roles, they need time to develop their character. During the project someone might take role of an engineer, someone of a project manager. While teh result might be good, they'll never experiecne the other side, and might never discover that they are more suited for the other position. Such things are much less likely to happen in a competition.

Secondly, cooperation often means being partially or fully responsible for others' failure, such is much mroe common in young people since they are stilld eveloping the sense of responsibility. which can demotivate high-achieving individuals. Most of us have had that one teammate in a senior project whose unexpected lethargy has caused us dearly. Repeated such occurances can develop a mistrust in the future leader. Therefore, later age is a better time to develop the sense of cooperation, on averange everyone is much more depandable.

People might argue that if the sense of cooperation is not developed at an earlier age, it will be hard for people to work in teams in their adulthood. While the improtance of teamwork in our modern society is unquestionable, it is important to note that forcefully trying to instill cooperation can backfire, making individuals mroe isolated, while nurturing competition might encourage them to work in teams to increase their chances. There are many examples of successful companies created by individuals who joined up to outcompete their peers, such as Google, NurtureAI, and legamus.

In conclusion I would say, that while teamwork is important, the society is better off nurting a sense of competition in the next generation, since it will help them find their identity and will encourage them to discover the need for cooperation on their own.