A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is a matter of the common knowledge that "we all come from our childhood", and that school environment, as well as educational curriculum, take a great part in developing children as fully-fledged citizens. Therefore, there is a heated debate on the best method of education, a significant portion of the population supporting the idea that all students should be required to take the same national curriculum. Their main arguments being the requirement of basic general education, as well as necessary to familiarize oneself with even seemingly less interesting subjects as not to limit career choices during college applications.

Firstly, while the given claim might be true for earlier years of education, it can be reasoned that by the time of high school the marginal benefits of such a system decrease significantly, since the student has had significant interaction with most of the subjects by middle school age. The continued benefits for either general knowledge or getting the feel of spheres of interests decrease significantly after that point. While, the individualized education allows for early testing of careers of choice, increase the students' motivation, since they are studying chosen subjects, and gives students a competitive advantage in college applications.

Secondly, the national curriculum hardly prepares students for the college life or career, where most of the choices fall upon the individual. It can be argued that preparing children for the next steps of their life is a major part of the responsibility of the education system.

There is also the fact that allowing more freedom from the guidelines can increase competitiveness among the schools, urging many to reexamine their education system. Such could be dropping out deprecated materials, quicker updates with newer content, and staying "in touch" with the progress of the outside world.

In conclusion, I would say that the advantages of the required national curriculum are far outweighed by disadvantages. And as such, I would hope for the increased versatility of the schools to ensure the best education for the next generation.