The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Worldwide people and their tastes vary a lot. That can be seen through the different cuisines if we are talking about the tastes in food. Just as well as in Europe from country to country, there are contrasting dished popular to the culture, but there are some international crowdpleaser foods, I would assume that people in United States have foods particular to every state and liked by only a part of population.

The first question which would be risen, would be if people get the same menus in Happy Pancake Houses in all the states or does it vary. If the menu is the same to everybody, then we could see that probably custumers have the same taste and try same things with butter/margarine which would cross out the through that maybe in the dishes served in one state these ingredients have more share of taste than in the ones from the other states. If the menus are different than maybe, what people get in southwestern states has smaller share of butter and therefore does not matter as much as in other states and therefore the assumption would not work perfectly in this case.

Another question might be general supply of the market in the states. What I mean is if they get the same diary products, or of the same quality. If the quality is lower in southwestern states, than there is a chance that in other states people know well what the real butter is and therefore would easily distinguish it from the margarine. If the products are the same than there is nothing wrong with the recommendation, because from this perspective the so called audience will be on the same level of determining the difference between products.

Considering that people who ask for butter, get margarine, say nothing about this matter we can assume that these people just do not have time, or simply do not want to interfere with servers. That would raise a question in the way people respond to any problems rising around them. Do people in southwestern states tend to be negligent of the minor problems? Are they trying to stay out of the argument? If yes, then maybe people from other states would not and in that case the recommendation once again would not hold.

Yet, there are only 2% of people who complained. Therefore this people eighter cannot see the difference or simply do not care. The reason they do not care can vary from the poor/good quality of both products, to the fact that the difference is so unimportant in taste that they do not make an issue out of it. However, butter is healthier product which people living a healthy lifestyle would consider. So, probably we should ask about the lifestyles of people from different states.

If in all questions asked states are more of less similar, than there probably will be no problem and recommendation would be very helpful and profitable. However if there is a big difference even in one topic than the view of changing the product in other states would probably need a futher evaluation. After all, saying that people are different usually holds true in many subjects, but it is still a question if they do have different tastes in one globalized country.