The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given text to maximize the company profits, the author recommends Happy Pancake House restaurants to replace the butter by margarine in their Southeast and Northeast branches, based on the lack of protest of the customers when this was done in the southwestern US by the company. While this recommendation could be accurate it heavily relies on a number of assumptions that need to be questioned before a decision is made.

Firstly, the author mentioned that only 2 % of the costumers complained, and concludes that the other 98% must be happy. This would only hold true if all the unhappy costumers complain, and also if the business hasn't silently lost unsatisfied costumers. Thus the question of how closely the happiness and lack of complaints are correlated needs to be answered.

The recommender also uses the lack of complaint from the customers when receiving margarine instead of butter they ordered as an argument that the customers are either unable to discern or don't know differences between margarine and butter, therefore the replacement being safe for the chain. However, this argument clearly jumps to conclusions, since it fails to account for a variety of factors that could constitute to the lack of complaints from the customers. One reason for silence could be the fact that the costumers not finding it enough of a problem to throw a tantrum, but it impacting their choices in the future. Also this could be the brand loyalty, that delays immediate reaction and makes customers more tolerable. This would mean that in the company might lose its image as small dissatisfactions pile up. Finally, it could be a cultural thing, as in some cultures direct complaints are not as accepted. Thus the question of how reliably the complaints reflect the dissatisfaction needs to be resolved in order for the recommendation to be made.

Another assumption is made by the author to extend the process to other parts of the US. It is a matter of the common knowledge, that while the same country the different States of the US can have significantly different traditions and tastes. So, the question arises of whether a strategy that might have worked in one region is guaranteed to succeed in another.

In conclusion, The recommendation introduces several questions, whether the uncomplaining costumers equal happy costumers, whether the lack of protest on getting a wrong meal is solely based on the inability to tell between ingredients, and whether results of one area of The US can safely be translated to others. All three need to be positively answered for the constructed argument to work.