In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are very few topics in the world, upon which majority of population has the same view. The issues that are directly related to progress, clearly are not one of them. In fact they tend to be some of the most controversial topics, which historically even led to violence. However, despite all that, the progress is generally achieved only after discussion and agreement from all sides.

There’s perhaps a reason why some of the biggest progress in our technology and society was made in free or democratic states. The ancient Greek would meet at the agora and discuss all the issues, rather have a single person with their own point of view make the decision. Ancient Greece is not only homeland of democracy, but majority of our technology is based on the foundations that they laid. Similarly, Rome achieved its greatness not during its initial years as a monarchy, or in its final years as an empire, but rather as a republic in between. Perhaps it’s not a coincidence that after the republic fell, the empire started to started to stagnate, and once the initial momentum was lost, it did not last long.

Yet, the discussion and understanding can only work when all sides are willing to do it. In some cases it is foolish to expect that someone with opposite view will come to understand all sides of the problem, if they show no sign of that. After the Great War, the winners of the war were very hesitant to enter another war. Yet Germany was rather eager to regain what it had lost. As a result, the allies would not react act upon act of aggression of Germans, hoping that they would eventually stop. But that was not the case. What followed was the bloodiest years of the mankind, that put the progress of our entire civilization further, than a small conflict might have earlier. Nevertheless, none of them was the perfect solution. It would simply have been a lesser evil at best. But had all sides been willing to listen and understand each other, our society would probably be much further advanced.

Overall, unhindered progress is only possible when despite their differences, people understand and come to the overall agreement. Because, progress is not a zero sum game. While some may benefit more than others, it’s usually not on the expense of somebody else. In the end, everyone wins.