In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which

the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Does progress require discussion among people who have contrasting points of view or not?

In this essay I consider few of the examples from the history of calculus and the struggle between deontology and utilitarianism to argue that

Despite the fact that one can arrive to conclusion much faster without discussing it with those opposing the view,

the benefits of such discussion outweigh this little inconvenience as it helps to make a more informed choice and avoid errors.

One may argue that to omit considering the opposing sides of argument will save time and hence lead to the faster progress.

For example, many people rejected and thought of Newton's calculus to be full of flaws and errors. However, in the end all of

those people became the proponents of calculus as they conceded that it was indeed correct and useful. We can infer from

this example that to consider the opposing side of the view only wasted time as in the end the conclusion was what the

Netwon put forward. However this case is an exception and we would not want to make general assumptions only based on one example.

It is unequivocal that when one does not consider both sides of the argument, he or she may be overlooking over a crucial

detail, which may have a significant impact on the conclusion if that detail were considered. Over the centuries people have

come to learn that when one does not consider both sides of the issue he or she has probably overlooked over a detail.

This experience is often applied in academic communities, where if in writing or in speech one omits the

contradicting points of view, his or her argument is considered weak and is therefore given little credit. Hence such work, no matter how novel, will

not propagate the field forward. However, there is more than ethos or credibility when considering the opposing views.

People give much credit to the works, which consider the opposing views as they are very likely to not have errors.

Philosophy is a subject which develops and progresses as people discuss their views. For example, deontology and utilitarianism

have throughout the centuries been divergent theories which aim at the same goal, to make people behave in a morally correct way.

Deontology aims at making rules which to follow, on the other hand in utilitarianism there is only one rule, greater good for greater numbers.

The conclusion has never been reached as these centuries have shown many many faults in both of the views. If not the discussion of these philosophies.

We might have adopted a way of thinking full of flaws.

By showing with the example of calculus that sometimes discussions can be futile, such discussions are still necessary as they give credibility

to the work, which may have significant effect on how people will receive it and whether it will help the field progress. The essay also considered the

case from the philosophy which shows that without considering both sides of the argument, we might adopt beliefs which are likely to be faulty. In the end,

it is clear that one should consider both sides of the issue to arrive at a right decision.