The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a matter of the common knowledge, that for a large number of individuals, be it thinkers, artists, writers, scientists, leaders, etc the recognition in the public eye has only come after their deaths.

While many, whose contributions are currently considered neglegable were lionized during their life. This discrepency has led to a claim that the gretness of individuals can only be decided

by the next generations, rather than the person's contemporaries. The supporters of this claim would argue that people

who come after tend to have better access to information, as well as a more unbiased outlook, while others disagree citing what they believe there to be numerous exceptions to this claim.

On one hand, it is true, that bias, at least unconscious an one often is often present in regards to contemporaries,

and the current political or socio-economic situation can taint the subject of evaluation in a good or a bad light. The delay in the spread of information might have also contributed to many people getting the world's attention long time after there deaths.

On the other hand, while the lack of information and existence of bias towards the individual, while closely correlated with closeness in time (and location), this correlation has exceptions. The history calls many people great, who were already acknowledged during their time. Many great kings, thinkers, innovators, musicians etc were celebrated for their greatness in their lives.

It is also important to consider that we live in the 21st century, an age of instant global communication, and consequently feedback. This means that the pool of evaluators is more diverse, multicultural, less biased, and most importantly well informed than ever. This diminishes the importance of passage of time for most cases. And while there are definitely cases where the correct judgment is only made after a person's death, be it a formula that was overlooked during the researcher's life, a work of art that never reached publication, I would say that they are more of the exceptions rather than the rule.

In conclusion, I would say, that while the given statement might have held true in the past, the times are changing, and in the modern digital world the multicultural, international society is able to make much more unbiased evaluations of their contemporaries, and while there are still a large number of cases of inherent biases forcing us mistakenly evaluate people, their number is likely to decrease.