If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

I oppose the statement given that any means of attaining a goal are justifiable if it is worthy enough. The idea of having absolute freedom to achieve a required desired result is logically flawed and subjective in nature and in the subsequent paragraphs, I explain my stance.

Firstly, how does one define a goal? For some mediocrity might be a goal while others may strive for excellence. How does one know what means are justifiable and what is not to attain it? For instance, consider two persons A and B, having goals X and Y respectively, where X may be equated to excellence whereas let Y be a mediocre goal. Although in the eyes of the B goal Y seems difficult to achieve and might make him take extreme actions to achieve it, person A can perform the task Y easily and would not approve of the actions taken by B. This difference in the definition of goal among different individuals can cause rifts which can be catastrophic for the society.

Furthermore, what is the definition of worthy? Who decides whether some goal or task is worthy enough for a person to carry out, let even achieve it in any manner possible. The notion of the worthiness of a goal varies from person to person and is not even a quantifiable entity. A goal that is worthy for a person X might not be so for another individual. That raises further questions on whether the actions carried out by X were not even necessary in the view of another person Y, as he didn't even consider the goal worth pursuing. This shows the logical flaw present in the given statement and further justifies my opposition to it.

Finally, in such a scenario where everyone will have absolute freedom of undertaking any task necessary to achieve a goal they deem worthy enough, criminal activities will rise. Today, we are tied by law and our moral values. But when the same moral values suggest that we need not adhere to the law but just focus on attaining our goal, that's when the state of society we live and exist in will spiral down drastically. In such a goal-oriented world, where no one has any moral fiber, who decides what actions are justifiable and what are not? Everyone will be so focussed on their own goal that they will forget all their responsibilities towards society. Such a situation cannot be realized in reality else the whole system of justice and accountability will break down.

Hence, it is imperative that we don't give people complete freedom over their actions to achieve their goals as it will have serious ramifications. As explained above, the given notion has many flaws and is totally subjective in nature. In reality, such a goal-oriented world is not sustainable and not universally applicable, so I reject the idea given in the statement.