The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

I disagree with the author's argument that in order to attract more number of viewers to the program and avoid losing any further advertising contracts, the television station must restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level. The argument does not make sense because it fails to provide specific evidence that could have helped understand the argument and its claims in entirety.

First, there is no specific evidence that the local and weather news was of more priority than the national news. Considering the case that national news was having more importance than the local news and weather news at the period of time when the television station devoted increased time to national news would defeat the purpose of the television station administration of increasing the viewers as some viewers might switch to other stations showing national news. This could further reduce the number of viewers currently present.

Second, there is no specific evidence of the ratio of viewers who complained to the total number of viewers formerly. If the ratio is too small, then it does not make sense to show more of local and weather news because the large majority of viewers do not require the change. Hypothetically consider that there were 2000 viewers formerly out of which only 50 have complained that the station is not showing weather and local news. In this case, if the channel restores its coverage to the former level, it will defeat the interest of the remaining 1950 viewers who have not complained.

Third, there is no specific evidence that the total number of viewers of late-night news program has increased or decreased as compared to former levels. If the total number of viewers has increased to due to more devotion to national news formerly, it could compensate with the contracts that the station is losing from local advertising agencies. Hence, it would not be beneficial to restore the coverage back to its former level if the loss in revenue due to the decreasing number of viewers interested in national news is more than what is recovered by maintaining the advertising contracts.

Since the argument provided by the author does not provide specific evidence such as the priority of national news over local and weather news, the ratio of viewers who complained to the total number of viewers and the number of viewers in comparison to former levels in late-night news program, therefore I disagree with the author's argument and its claims in its entirety.