The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's

local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools

that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from

taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ,

however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For

example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in

absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much

per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both

cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City

residents place a higher value on providing a good education in

public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is

needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence

would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the above argument claims that the various cities in the region of Trillura place different values on providing good education in public schools. The author supports the above argument by stating that Parson city has spent almost twice as much amount as the Blue City for its public schools despite the fact that both the cities have about the same number of residents. Thus according to the author Parson City gives higher budgetary priority to good education in public schools than Blue City. However, the argument does not make sense because it does not provide specific evidence which will help strengthen the argument and validate its claims.

First, there is no specific evidence that both the cities collect the same amount of tax per year despite the population of both the cities is almost the same. The amount of tax collected by a city depends on the income of its residents. A person with a low income pays less tax than the person who is earning more. It is nowhere specified in the argument that the income of the residents in the Parson city is the same as that of residents in Blue City. Moreover, the amount of tax collected also depends on the number of tax paying residents. The number of taxpaying residents can directly affect the amount of tax collected as a city with more taxpaying residents might have a better collection of tax than the one with a lower number of tax paying residents. So, having almost the same population does not mean that the number of tax paying residents in both the cities is also the same. Thus, the above two factors contribute to the fact that it is not necessary that the tax collected by both the cities is the same. As mentioned by the author, the tax collected by the government is the source of the majority of money spent on public schools. So, it is incorrect to say that the one city values good education in public schools less as compared to other as the metric for judging the value is the tax collected which in itself might be different for both the cities.

Second, there is no specific evidence that the issues that both the cities face are also the same. It may be the fact that one city has an issue of greater concern than that of good education in public schools and thus has to allocate a higher budgetary priority to that concern. For example, if a city is facing a health crisis due to lack of proper health care facilities ,then it needs to allocate more resources in order to improve these facilities like hospitals ,chemist shops etc . which might be the sole reason that the city is not able to spend more on education in public schools. So, having an issue that needs more attention than education in public schools does not mean that the city attaches less importance to it. Moreover, it is also mentioned in the argument that the Parson city spent more on education only recently but it is nowhere stated that it has a history of doing the same which might have reflected that it actually places greater importance than the Blue City.

Third, there is no specific evidence that Blue City does not have a good education system in public schools already. It might be the case that Blue City spent a low amount of money only because it already has the available resources which make up for a good education system. On the contrary, it is possible that Parson City doesn't have a good education system, unlike the Blue City which can be the reason that it spends almost twice than Blue City. So, judging the importance that one city places over the other only on the basis of money spent in the recent year is fundamentally flawed. It might be the case that Blue City had already invested a lot on education in the previous years and thus it has come to a stage where it doesn't have to spend more now.

Thus, we cannot agree with the author's argument because it does not provide specific evidence of the amount of tax collected, the issues faced as well as the quality of education system already present in both the cities which could have helped us better understand and evaluate the merit of the argument in its entirety.