Colleges and Universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I tend to disagree with the claim that colleges and universities require at least one semester studying in a foreign country because the claim fails to answer some pertinent questions as explained subsequently.

First, what is the educational background of the foreign country in which a student must require to spend a semester studying?. If the foreign country in consideration is educationally inferior to the one in which the student is studying, then the student wouldn't benefit from spending a semester studying because he/she will learn better if he studies is his/her own country which has better resources and methods of teaching. Moreover, it is not necessary that every program that is offered in a student's university is offered by a foreign country which provides a better education in that field.In this case not each student would choose to study abroad. Studying in a foreign country where the language spoken is different from the one spoken in the student's country also requires him/her to learn that language ,which itself requires a lot of time ,distracting the student from the focus of studying his/her field of study.

Second, would the cost of studying and living in a foreign country would be bore by the college or the student?. Studying and livng in foreign country requires more money than the normal routine of life. If it is the college which takes care of the expenses, it would do so by increasing the tution fee or some added fee which has to be bore by the student. Either way it would be the student who has to take up all the expenses. Some students are burdened with the everyday responsibilities of life. It would be unfair to assume that every student has that kind of money to spare. He/she may or may not have a job or has to support his/her family in which scenario the requirement of the college/university to study abroad even for one semester would be a burden to the student.

Third,what is the duration of the semester which the college/university is expecting the student to study abroad?. If the duration of the semester is too short, say two-three months then even if the foreign country is educationally more advanced than the student's country, he/she won't be able to benefit or learn a lot . In other words it wouldn't be worth as compared to the expenses incurred.The main role of a college/university is to deliver education on it's premise to the student. So, if the duration of the semester is too long , say a year then this would very well defy the role of the educational institution in which the student is studying.

Thus,even though the experience of the studying abroad might be good in some situations, it shouldn't be forced on the student as it might be advantageous to some students while disadvantageous to others. Hence , keeping in mind the above pertinent questions and there consequences if the claim is enforced, I strongly disagree with the idea that colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.