If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

A man is known not merely by the goals he set, but more importantly, by the goals he achieve. What constitutes an intellectually successful life is the attainment of goals and fulfillment of visions as set by a man. But do we, in order to achieve the objectives we all desire, give ourselves away to any means or resort to any methods to attain it? No, for successful achievement of a desired purpose, one should not only have a definite set of goals, but also the right and justified means to achieve it.

An unsuccessful attempt in any venture is better than achieving it through unfair means. Quite often, we human beings are tempted to undertake certain mal-practices which help us achieve our goal faster and easier way. Adopting such chicanery will no doubt help us achieve our set target in an easier fashion; we however can never thereafter credit for honesty. Our values of ethics, which undoubtedly crosses our conscience every now and then, will make us face a conflict with our own inner self. The world may see us achieve great heights, but it is with our own selves that we stand to lose.

Many a times, our goals are achieved at the cost of imparting harm to others. Do we consider such an achievement a satisfying one? No. When a politician climbs up the top of the ladder deceiving people, what he sets is nothing but an impending doom to the future of the politics. Rival industries may often supersede others in business by bringing forth harmful strategies to other competing companies; high aiming multi-national companies may exploit nature and its resources to an unprecedented extend to achieve profits and players often consciously cover up mistakes to win a match. These are few common examples where one party benefited at the cost of the other, but we stop and ask a question here. How long can one achieve success or realize goals by embracing such false methodologies? Can we assure our inner selves of the success we have achieved?

This goals, when resorting to extreme and unfair means, are achieved on a short term basis; however such success is volatile. For a continuous growth, achievement and setting a purpose of life, we need to adhere to certain ethical standards, set not only by others, but guided by our own sense of morality and duty. An achievement of a goal is worthy enough only when it pertains to betterment of self and asserts a sense of moral value. A tainted success is a covert failure.

Attaining worthy goals indubitably gives one a sense of completeness and satisfaction, let alone extolled by popularity, eminence and praise; the sense of achievement however becomes sojourn when our minds are over-shadowed with the gloomier thoughts of the unfair means we had resorted to. Thus, for a goal to be worth in its name, one must embrace only those methods which are acceptable morally, ethically and socially. Honesty goes a long way, but comes at a greater price.