If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

The statement asserts that any, and every means for achievement of a goal that is deemed worthwhile, are guaranteed justification. Depending on the possible impacts and nature of the goal, the statement can be valid; however, if the means to attain the goal goes against some important rules in society, the goal itself should be reevaluated of its value, and if the goal is still deemed worthy, people should find other ways to achieve it for the enhancement of the entire society.

To begin with, depending on the essence of the goal, ways to attain the goal can sometimes be justified. If the nature of goal is pure and for the justice, and the goal’s anticipated impacts are conducive to the betterment of a society, then even illicit methodologies can tolerated. In case of Susan B. Antony, a prominent female social activist who fought assiduously for enhancement of women rights, especially women’s suffrage, her illegal act against the government is evaluated as an act of justice nowadays. Anthony voted before the U.S. government passed 19th amendment that bestowed women’s right to vote. She believed that her method, even against the law, is rightful since the goal she had was for the good of numerous people, which enhances their rights as human. People in this day and age, as a result, benefited greatly from her demeanor, and respect her for her illegal action. If the goal is for the higher virtue, its means can surely be justified.

However, it is extremely rare for goals purely for the positive effects to have corrupt means to achieve them. If the means to attain the goal are questionable ethically and morally, in most cases the goal would possess some harm. Also, if the means are against the rules and detrimental, it is possible that the goal is only worthwhile to very few people and have deleterious impacts on numerous people. Take Enron Scandal as an instance. Enron is an American energy company that used to be successful; due to failed deals and projects, the company had to declare bankruptcy. The executives of the firm, nonetheless, refused to do so since they did not want to lose their fame and wealth, thus chose to deceive their customers. Their means to achieve their goal of retaining their fame wealth were corrupt, indeed because the ultimate goal was corrupt. Therefore, when their subterfuge was revealed, the consequence was worse than before. All of it was rife with harm since the goal of the executives was worthwhile exclusive to them and was detrimental for many other people.

All in all, if a goal is purely for the development of a society and achievement of a higher value, even illegal methods can be tolerated and justified to attain the goal. It is, nevertheless, a very unlikely case where goals’ expected benefits outweigh corrupt methodologies. If the means to attain a goal is harmful to many, it is doubtful that the goal would engender positive impacts; merits could be only for very few, which indicates that the goal is only worthwhile for very few and not for the many. Since the latter example is the general case, the given statement is not cogent.