If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

It is said that experience hardens and strengthens one’s skills at work. Irrespective of success in a profession, a truly valuable asset one receives after years of working in a field is experience. Based on the validity of the above sentences, this essay argues that if prospective employees are otherwise equally qualified, the employee with more experience should get the job.

With experience comes a certain degree of skill development and necessary adaptability. Being on a job for an extended period of time helps employees understand the nitty-gritties the job entails. For instance, an army general who has weathered several wars will be a much more valuable asset than a new recruit, even if the recruit has a shining resume comparable to when the general initially started his military career.

Moreover, it is often the case that reality often belies expectations – a job is vastly different from what people initially assume it entails. A case to the point is for engineers. Initially most engineers believe that their professional lives will consist mainly of pioneering innovative designs and structural plans to erect wonderful urban structures in steel and concrete. Little do they think about the added burdens like responsibilities for people management, bureaucratic red tape, misallocated funds and so on. In such cases, an experienced hand is far more valuable than a verdant employee, as the former is more prone to adapt in the face of unforeseen difficulties and take the path of least resistance instead of withering in front of insurmountable odds.

Finally experience often helps an employee maintain focus, as he/she understands the extent of his/her responsibilities and stays within that purview. This is best seen the legal profession, where the best lawyers are those who have stuck to the same type of cases for years and have gained experience of the manner in which to persuade judges.

Now this is not to say that there are exceptions to the rule. There are some cases where the employee, being brilliant in his or her own right, does not need vast experience to be assigned to challenging projects. This is seen especially in mathematics, where peak productivity lies upto the age of 30. Moreover, as is sometimes the case, a job requires innovation or a fresh perspective, in which case a less experienced employee is the preferred option. This is often the case in cutting edge research undertaken by visionary firms like SpaceX and GoogleX.

In conclusion, the essay argues that experience generally is much better for a job as it provides employees with necessary skills and expertise which does not come with sitting in the classroom training for that profession. Moreover, it grants one the necessary flexibility to be productive in that field. Finally it helps one maintain focus and gives an inside perspective to many situations which may seem alien to a new recruit.